A Primer On Being The One Everyone Admires

It's easy on paper but challenging in real life

Barry Davret
7 min readAug 9, 2023
Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash

When I entered the conference room for the networking event, I shot a reflexive oh-crap eye-roll at the attendees seated around the table.

Awkward smiles of other hopeless failures greeted me, most wearing ill-fitted button-down shirts and clutching business cards printed on home computers, as evidenced by the uneven cuts around the edges and flimsy paper stock.

Just my luck. Another one of these snake-oil pitches where a slick salesman corrals a bunch of wannabes into buying his magic elixir sales formula. But after months of defeats and no clients, I stuck around since I had nothing else to do.

As I sat waiting for his sales pitch, I knew I had walked into a classic timeshare hard sell, but when the presentation concluded, he shocked us by avoiding the typical lock the door and don't let them leave until they buy format.

Instead, he offered free coaching for five days, and if we saw positive results, he'd sell us on his super-expensive mentoring. I don't think anyone else took him up on the offer. I did as I had nothing to lose.

The guy had so much confidence in his abilities, but I remained skeptical as I doubted I could get the results he promised. Fortunately…

--

--

Barry Davret

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership