Do You Let Customers And Clients Verbally Abuse You?

How to define your “red line” and develop a response system

Barry Davret
6 min readJun 15, 2019
Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

I was twenty-three and terrified of losing my job. I was working at the front desk of a hotel, a famous one. We were busy. The lines were long, and people were impatient.

A guest walks up to the counter and calls me an asshole. Instead of defending myself, I ignored it, pretended I didn’t hear it. I asked, “can I help you?”

He then pulled the power move. He threatened my livelihood. “How would you like it if I called your GM and told him what an asshole you were? My company spends over $100,000 a year here.”

He then mumbled some other insults I don’t remember. I ignored him until he finally mentioned the reason for his visit.

To this day, that incident kills me. I work myself up into a frenzy just thinking about it. Why didn’t I stand up for myself? I was young. His threat to complain to the GM felt real. I convinced myself that I took it like a man and protected my job.

But there’s a bright side

The memory and shame of that incident reanimate in my mind every time I find myself on the receiving end of that type of behavior.

--

--

Barry Davret

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership