When Someone’s Struggling In Life, Help Them Rescue Themselves

A four-step approach

Barry Davret
5 min readNov 26, 2020
Licensed from Shutterstock // Pazargic Liviu

For the first time in my adult life, I was broke, jobless, and out of options. Holding back a few tears, I phoned a former mentor, hoping he could supply a miracle or two.

When I arrived at my mentor’s office, he invited me to sit. Ashamed of my circumstances, I said nothing, but he forced me to vomit out the truth about my fledgling business.

My one shot at entrepreneurship had collapsed, but I refused to recognize it’s death, clinging to the delusion that I could resurrect it. All the while, my bank account bled until only wisps of life remained.

“Your business is dead,” he said.

Part of me sensed it months earlier. That’s why I hedged and prepared for life after entrepreneurship. I explained to my mentor how I had spent a lot of time acquiring skills for a new career and needed help moving forward.

“New skills?” he asked. “Teach me something.”

So, I did. He responded with questions and took notes as I answered. For the first time in almost a year, I felt useful.

We chatted for a few minutes longer, and then he looked at his notes again.

--

--

Barry Davret

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership